BRWC Results – 2019

BRWC Benita Van Raaphorst Memorial 3km Handicap, Lake Wendouree, Ballarat, Sunday 19 May

A bright Autumn morning greeted the walking group and the Van Raaphorst family at the race held in their sisters Benita’s honour. Benita Van Raaphorst was an up and coming junior racewalker who 18 years ago passed away in an accident, and this race is held in memory of her dedication to racewalking.

With the football season in full swing some of our walkers were otherwise occupied. Our small field keenly headed off in handicap order with our new walker Charlotte MacDonell leading the way and holding on to the end, finishing in 21:56 with a 2:50 sec PB. Laura Ballinger was not able to catch Charlotte but also finished well in 20:14 with a 51sec PB. Third place went to Fraser Saunder with a new club U16 record of 14:27.

Benita Van Raaphorst Memorial 3km Handicap
1. Charlotte MacDonell    21:56   PB:2:50 
2. Laura Balluinger       20:14   PB:0:51
3. Fraser Saunder         14:27
4. Scott Peart            18:14
5. Jemma Peart            15:10

Charlotte MacDonell

Charlotte MacDonell with van Raaphorst family

Willi Sawall 3km Handicap, North Gardens, Lake Wendouree, Ballarat, Sunday 5 May

Once again, the Ballarat North Gardens provided the backdrop for our first race of the winter season. It was a small but keen group of walkers greeting the start line in this year’s Wili Sawall 3km walk, and in the presence of the great walker Willi Sawall himself. It was our top juniors who led out early with Jemma Peart, Alanna Peart and Fraser Saunder all producing good times, none giving an inch as they battled to the finish line. Jemma finished with the fastest time. Not to be out done Laura Ballinger produced a fine walk to cross the line in a time of 21:17. However it was Scott Peart who took the handicap honours in a time of 18:02. We also welcomed our new member Charlotte MacDonell for her first walk.

Willi Sawall 3km Handicap 3km Handicap
1. Scott Peart            18:02
2. Jemma Peart            14:21
3. Fraser Saunder         14:46
4. Alanna Peart           14:37
5. Laura Ballinger        21:17
6. Charlotte MacDonell    24:46  First one

Willi Sawall with winner Scott Peart